Temper Control

Temper Control

there once was a little boy who had a bad temper. His father gave him a bag of nails and told him that every time he lost his temper, he must hammer a nail into the fence.

The first day the boy had driven 37 nails into the fence. Over the next few weeks as he learned to control his anger, the number of nails hammered daily, gradually dwindled down. He discovered it was easier to hold his temper than to drive those nails into the fence. Finally the day come when the boy didn’t lose his temper at all. He told his father about it and the father suggested that the boy now pull out one nail for each day that he was able to hold his temper.

The days passed and the young boy was finally able to tell his father that all the nails were gone. The father took his son by the hand and led him to the fence. He said “you have done well, my son, but look at the holes in the fence. the fence will never be the same. When you say things in anger, they leave a scar just like this one.”

You can put a knife in a man and draw it out. It won’t matter how many times you say I’m sorry, the wound is still there.

Make sure you control your temper the next time you are tempted to say something you will regret later.

Source: Credit to the Unknown Author

Proverbs 14:29 ” He that is slow to wrath is of great understanding: but he that is hasty of spirit exalteth folly.”

Psalms 37:8-9 ” Cease from anger, and forsake wrath: fret not thyself in any wise to do evil.For evildoers shall be cut off: but those that wait upon the Lord, they shall inherit the earth.”

Proverbs 29:22 “An angry man stirreth up strife, and a furious man aboundeth in transgression.”

Proverbs 16:32 “He that is slow to anger is better than the mighty; and he that ruleth his spirit than he that taketh a city.”

Proverbs 14:17 ” He that is soon angry dealeth foolishly: and a man of wicked devices is hated.”

Proverbs 15:1 “A soft answer turneth away wrath: but grievous words stir up anger.”

Ecclesiastes 7:9 “Be not hasty in thy spirit to be angry: for anger resteth in the bosom of fools.”

So many many more verse in the Bible telling us not to be easily angry. I have read this story long long time ago. When I myself also is struggling with my temper. When I got saved I’ve been still struggling with the issues of my life. But as I draw myself closer to God he tells me through His Word how to overcome it. I can’t say that I cannot be angry anymore but there is already difference than before. right now, I could control it and keep it until I got calm inside not like before that it just burst out without control. Thanks God. 🙂

Satan already knew that there is nothing he can do for the believers Salvation. He cannot erase it anymore or make it undone. One you have confessed Jesus Christ as your Lord and personal Saviour, your name in Heaven was written in the Book of Life. Revelation 13:8 ” And all that dwell upon the earth shall worship him, whose names are not written in the book of life of the Lamb slain from the foundation of the world.”So what he will do is to ruin your life here on earth and your testimony through targeting your weaknesses and I notice that in my case. It’s my temperance that is my weakness and i noticed that almost everyday there is something that will happen that will trigger my temper. Then I prayed harder and harder for God to help me control it. Then God helped me. 🙂

Just a few hours ago, People around me was bursting with anger. Then I was inspired to share this story. May you have a nice day. Remember Anger could defeat you so never let it control you. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Temper Control

  1. Pingback: ‘Good’ Temper :) | DiJiTalk.com

Tell me what are you thinking...

